Back to Performances

Virtuosi Thailand’s Seriously Fabulous Classical Concert #1




Wednesday, 21 August 2024 at 19:00


Auditorium, The Siam Society


Members –  800 baht
Non-Members – 1,000 baht
Students under 18 – 400  baht

Wine will be on sale.

For reservation, please contact:

The Siam Society
131 Asoke Montri Road (Sukhumvit 21), Bangkok 10110
Tel: 02-661-6470-3 ext 201
(Please contact us during office hours)

Programme :
W.A. Mozart – Grande Sestetto Concertante
R. Strauss – Metamorphosen

Thailand’s finest new-gen string ensemble, Virtuosi Thailand, presents their 5th anniversary
concert. Aiming to reach out to new Thai audiences, the ensemble presents classical
masterpieces with emotional and modern nuance. The first of its Seriously Fabulous
Classical concert series, seven young leading Thai string musicians will be performing two
classical masterpieces for String Septet.

Originally composed in 1779 by the foremost famed Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, the
Grande Sestetto Concertante is an anonymous arrangement of his celebrated Sinfonia
concertante for Violin, Viola, and orchestra K.364. Though arranged for string sextet, we are
very excited to perform for you with a little surprise, hint, the extra double bassist!

Richard Strauss started composing Metamorphosen in 1945. Even though the firstly
published version was orchestrated for 23 solo string instruments, Strauss’ early realisation
for this composition was for string septet. We will be performing the arrangement by Rudolf
Leopold which is based on Strauss’ original sketches.

The two pieces of music consist of three movements and three continuous sections
respectively. Please arrive at the venue early to pick your favourite spot to sit. The concert
will last approximately 80 minutes including a short intermission between the two works.
Hope to see you all at the concert.



More upcoming concerts